Postcard 9: On Walking & Trees

I got my drivers license in my late twenties, which meant that I had to pretty much walk everywhere until relatively recently. Thankfully I really love walking and I continue to keep it up to this day. Given that I am a new transplant to the beautiful city of Cape Town I have been exploring the various natural wonders and walks that it offers. One of my favourite walks is the Pipe Track, which follows a grey water pipe that winds its way along the side of Table Mountain above Camps Bay. The views are truly amazing and so is the indigenous fynbos. This tree is one of the spindly pine trees that grows along the Pipe Track. I encountered it one misty day and thought it as beautiful so I took a photo of it and translated it into a drawing. My friend Carrie, who is a print maker based in London, shares my love for botany and walking so I thought this was the perfect subject for her. It was also a little reminder of home and the time we spent together last year. I really enjoyed drawing this one.

postcard_9_carrie_tree_resize

Leave a Reply

